Just a thought…

I had a bit of a frightening experience shopping today at Safeway in Astoria, OR. After getting my good deals, and checking out, I ran out into the parking lot in the pouring rain. The parking lot was packed. I unloaded my groceries and noticed a guy in a van looking creepily at me. It kind of freaked me out. As I put my cart away, I noticed that he had gotten out of his van and was headed straight for my car! I had to sprint to get there before he did, and as I did, he ran back to his van and continued to watch me. Really creepy!! I called the police and reported it. It was such a good reminder to be AWARE. Not afraid of the world, but just aware.

Ultimately, who do we have to be afraid of other than God himself? Jesus says in the Bible “Fear him who, after your body has been killed, has authority to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him.” Luke 12:5 Why should we fear God? Well, He created us and we are accountable to Him for our time on earth. Do we glorify God? How can we glorify Him? How can we even pray to a perfect, holy God when we are all so sinful. (If you think you’re a pretty good person, it may be time to reconsider. Just because you may think you are better than your neighbor down the street doesn’t mean you can stand before a perfect, holy, righteous God on judgment).

If it was not for Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross where He paid the ultimate penalty for OUR sin so that we could DIE to SIN and LIVE for RIGHTEOUSNESS (1 Peter 2:24) we would never be able to stand before God. It is really really good news!! Once you BELIEVE this, don’t keep sinning. It just cheapens God’s grace. God’s LOVE was completely demostrated by sending Jesus to die for us. “For God so LOVED the world, that He sent His only Son so that whoever believes in Him will not perish, but will have eternal life!” John 3:16.

When I die, I will be WELCOMED into God’s Kingdom for ETERNITY! WOW! That is way better than any deal I could ever possibly get on earth. So, I need to remind myself of this when I am afraid. God is with me. He loves me, and I am His child. My life is for HIS glory and in His hands.

-K

(On a little side note, check out the trunk monkey video on YouTube for some comic relief!)

About karikoupon

As a wife and mom, I want to save my family money so that we can be good stewards of what God has given us! This blog is dedicated to share what I am learning about saving money and being a godly woman.
This entry was posted in Kari Koupon Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just a thought…

  1. Hollie Billeci says:

    Wow Kari, I’m so sorry to hear about your experience. That is really scarry. I am going to be shopping at that Safeway on Thursday but my husband will be with me. Also, thank you for the reminder about what we should really be afraid of! Since your in town does that mean you will be at church on Sunday? God Bless you!!!

    • karikoupon says:

      Thanks Hollie! You are such an encouragement! I WISH I was going to be here until Sunday, but I am leaving tomorrow. It was just a short trip. Glad your husband is going with you! Husbands are the best (and so safe to hang out with)!!

  2. Destinee says:

    Glad you’re ok, Kari. Praise God for his protection of his children.

Leave a Reply

