God Provides!!!

My dear friend and roommate in college used to always say ”God provides.” I didn’t quite know what that ment for a long time, but it seems that the Lord has been teaching me what it means over the past few years in incredible ways.

It all started when I was saving up money to go on a Mission Trip to Mexico. After praying about it, and working odd jobs, I was able to save up JUST ENOUGH to go on the trip! Once there, I met an incredible woman, and this is the story:

We traveled down a bumpy, dusty road on our way to a migrant camp in Baja, Mexico. I had never been to a Mexican migrant camp, but since my extended family are farmers, I thought I had an idea of what it would be like-a little community of mobile homes.

Man was I WRONG! We arrived at our destination to find a community build entirely of barbed wire and cardboard. What a shock! My first impression was that this was REAL POVERTY.

Our group handed out bags of food to some of the mothers who were on their break from working in the fields, and I had the privilege of meeting Abuelita. As I handed her the bag of flour, oranges, oil, and salt, she grabbed my hand and looked into my eyes. ”Gracious a Dios.” She said as she looked up at me. ”Thanks to God!” She went on to describe all the ways God had provided for her. ”He provides the sun, and the rain! The moon, and the stars, and the love and the food we need.”

I was SPEECHLESS. Here she was, living in some of the worst conditions I had ever seen, and SHE WAS PRAISING GOD. At that moment, I knew I was the one in poverty. A poverty of heart. Oh me of little faith. How often had I thanked God for the sun and rain? How often had I relied on God to put food on the table? Or really took the time to praise Him for the stars He set in the sky? I couldn’t think of a time. I knew Jesus had died for me, and that because of that I had a living hope, a hope of salvation and the joy of having Christ live in me. I knew I wanted to live for Him, yet somehow I had missed having faith in this HUGE characteristic of God. HE PROVIDES! I needed that childlike assurance that He would provide for ALL my needs. With tears in my eyes, I prayed that God would show me how to have faith in his provision, knowing He had covered my sin of disbelief by His precious blood.

Jesus tells the people in His famous Sermon on the Mount in Matthew 6:25-33 ”Do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, or about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, yet I tell you,even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Since my trip in Mexico I have been continually growing in faith and have seen the Lord provide in amazing ways! I will share some of these stories in the future.

If you have situations in your life where you have seen God provide, please e-mail me at karikoupon@gmail.com, FACEBOOK me, or leave a comment on this blog. I would like to include stories on this blog as an encouragement to others about the faithfulness of the LORD. This blog is created to be a place to not only save money, but to also reflect on God’s provision, so that we can be better stewards of the money He has entrusted to us!

-K

About karikoupon

As a wife and mom, I want to save my family money so that we can be good stewards of what God has given us! This blog is dedicated to share what I am learning about saving money and being a godly woman.
This entry was posted in God's Provision. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

