Grocery Game

This week’s groceries:

Saving money on groceries is starting to become a game for me. My dear friend Destinee and I spent a good few hours clipping and organizing coupons before heading to Safeway where we saved 48+ dollars on our 46 dollar grocery bill. Here are some highlights:

1. The best was buying a gallon of milk and getting free cookies AND free Honey Bunches of Oats cereal just for buying the milk (which we needed anyway).

How did I do it?

-I became a fan of Nabisco on Facebook. Aparently they offer coupons once a month for free cookies when you buy a gallon of milk and a pack of cookies, so look for that one next month.

-The little boxes of coupons next to the milk at Safeway were offering $2 off a box of honey bunches of oats. They just happened to be on sale for $2 at Safeway. So, we got them for FREE

2. Another highlight is always using the double manufacturer coupon at Safeway, if you bring in 4+ coupons you can save another $2.

What could I have done better?

3. If you check the back of Tuesday’s paper (usually the Oregonian Food Day section) you can find a $10 off $50 or more at Safeway. I haven’t been looking for these lately but they really help. I found one yesterday, so I will hopefully use it next week.

In the future:

My current goals are to keep improving at grocery buying to get the most for our money. Some women spend as little as $30 or $40 dollars a week and get as much as $250 dollars worth of groceries per week. They are experts.

Another goal of mine is to post some budgeting ideas and tips that have helped Peter and I. I absolutely love working with numbers and being a good steward of what God has blessed us with. The more we save, the more we can bless others. Peter is an expert budgeter, and I am thankful for his leadership in this area.

Peter said I should start posting savings for people that are interested. So, let me know if any of this has been helpful. Like I said, I still have a lot to learn and a long way to go but it is becoming a very fun and rewarding hobby.

Grace in Christ,

Kari

About karikoupon

As a wife and mom, I want to save my family money so that we can be good stewards of what God has given us! This blog is dedicated to share what I am learning about saving money and being a godly woman.
This entry was posted in Kari Koupon Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

